Retaking GMAT: Prep in 30 days

This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Retaking GMAT: Prep in 30 days

by rupantor » Sat Nov 15, 2008 1:37 pm
I posted this in MGMAT section for their advice, but posting this here again to get some general opinion.

I took GMAT in 2005 and got 640: Q-46, V-32.
To improve my score, I studied for about 2 months and took the test again today. I got 570: Q-40, V-28. My score went down by 70 points!
I did terrible in timing. Had to guess about 7/8 questions in each section.

Here is how I have been doing in my prep tests.
I took only the GMATPrep-2 with AWA essays; all other I just did Quant and Verbal. This may be one of my mistakes. Moreover, I realize now that I might have taken too many practice exams right before the original test.

25-Oct-08: Kaplan Paper Test: 600, Q-42, V-33
10-Nov-08: PowerPrep-1 (Retake): 670, Q-46, V-36
10-Nov-08: PowerPrep-2 (Retake): 700, Q-49, V-35
11-Nov-08: MGMAT CAT-1: 660, Q-44, V-36
13-Nov-08: GMATPrep-1(Retake): 720, Q-48, V-41
14-Nov-08: GMATPrep-2: 650, Q-49, V-31

I prepared with OG-11, MGMAT Sentence Correction (2005), MGMAT Number Properties Guide and Kaplan Math Workbook.

To meet application deadline for business PhD programs, I registered to take GMAT again on December 19, 2008. I have 33 days to do something! I am a full time master’s student; I will have to deal with three course exams in early December.

Do you have any suggestions for me about how to prepare in 30 days?

Legendary Member
Followed by:6 members

by mayonnai5e » Mon Nov 17, 2008 1:13 am
It appears your quant score is decent and particularly good on the GMATPrep, but your verbal is your problem. How have you been studying the verbal portion? Also, your timing seems to be way off if you are leaving 7/8 questions to be answered with guesses. How are you attacking your timing problems? What is your target score?
https://www.beatthegmat.com/my-blog-erro ... t4899.html