Needed advise to my admission queries

Launched April 26, 2006
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
Hi Stacy,
I am planning to apply to US B-school this year and would like to take your advice on a few points of my application.
I am a technical consultant with 4 Years workex(14 months in US) in a top 4 consulting firm. I have completed my undergrad from a top 10 university in India with a CGPA of 3.1/4.0. I attempted GMAT twice and got 660 and 690(Q 50 95%ile, V 32 66%ile). Since my Verbal percentile is poor, I am planning to take GMAT again and am very confident to cross the 85 percentile in Verbal this time. I have a strong interest in Social entrepreneurship and Strategy and am looking to apply to Wharton, MIT, Michigan, Columbia, Tuck and CMU . I have experience of leading various initiative in practices developments and firm activities in my organization. I have done a diploma course in Social Entrepreneurship and am working closely with a society for Handicapped since last year, on developing a plan and funding proposal for sustainable employment for rural handicapped people in India. Apart from this, I also lead a major fund raising activity in my organization and it was nominated as one of the best projects throughout organization wide.
My queries are:
1. Can you please comment on my involvement in the Social entrepreneurship front? Though this is my passion, I would love to work for 6-7 years in strategy and management consulting and then gradually start my SE initiatives in India after getting substantial financial stability.
Honestly, finances are the only reason for this decision. But will the b-schools believe my explanation if i say that I want to work in a lucrative consulting career and then switch to social-entrepreneurship?
2. Is my selection of schools good and do you recommend any other schools/do not recommend any from my selection?