Profile Evaluation

Launched April 26, 2006
This topic has expert replies
Master | Next Rank: 500 Posts

Profile Evaluation

by rosh26 » Tue Sep 16, 2008 11:56 am
Hi,

I am applying early decision to Columbia.

I have a little over 2 years of work experience. I will have 3 years of work experience upon matriculation.

I have worked in marketing for 3 different organizations (about 8 months each)

I currently work in advertising for the New York Times.

I have 3.3 GPA from Rutgers (Marketing Major)

610 GMAT (Q42 V33)

I have a recommendation from an Alumni (my manager from my last company)

Do you think I have a moderate chance of getting in being that I am applying early decision and have an alumni rec. despite my low GMAT?

Also, how do I explain a low GMAT in my application?

Legendary Member
GMAT Score:640

by AleksandrM » Tue Sep 16, 2008 6:09 pm
I am no consultant, but I don't think that you should dwell on your GMAT score. Unless there was some sort of unusual situation that caused you to perform at a level that you do not think does you justice - death of a loved one, you lost your arm upon arriving at the testing facility, etc. - I do not think you should explain the score. Instead, show how the score does not do you justice by pointing at some project that you completed in school, which required analytical skill; or maybe you received an A in statistics of calculus; or maybe you had a low SAT score but ended up with a pretty good GPA.

Otherwise, just focus on the essays and recommendation letters.

That is my 2 cents.

Good luck!!!

GMAT/MBA Expert

MBA Admissions Consultant
Followed by:148 members

by Lisa Anderson » Wed Sep 17, 2008 8:31 am
Dear rosh26,