Predictiveness of Practice Tests...to be continued soon!

This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
I'm taking the GMAT in 11 days so getting down to the wire now!

I just started studying using Magoosh 11 days ago, so am halfway through my studying period and hoping for good results.

I've found it interesting to see the different scores I've had on practice CATs...or really an expected progression with a big outlier. Everyone seems to say that the GMATPrep tests are most representative of an expected score and I certainly hope so!

My progression went:

January - took the Manhattan Prep test with no preparation, minimal reading about the format. Score was 720 (Q47, V42)

July 3 - GMATPrep test 1 after a few days studying. Score 740 (Q47, V45). Also IR 8
July 8 - Magoosh test. Score 660 (Q45, V36)
July 11 - GMATPrep test 2. Score 760 (Q47, V48). Also IR 8.

All tests were taken under similar conditions without any pausing, long breaks, or other departures from the real conditions.

The Magoosh verbal score definitely seems like a big outlier and their estimated score ranges (after answering 60% of their quant question bank and 40% of the verbal) also put me lower than all the other tests I've taken (Q42-45 and V35-42 for estimated overall range 640-710 based on their chart). I'm obviously hoping that theirs doesn't prove to be predictive of my actual score.

That being said I do want to say that I've found their math lessons and problems very helpful to my studying...somehow it doesn't seem to be showing up yet in an improvement in my scores but overall I do feel more confident on many of the questions and am hoping that with some luck and a few more days of studying it'll pay off on test day!

Legendary Member
Followed by:128 members
GMAT Score:770

by DavidG@VeritasPrep » Tue Jul 11, 2017 5:57 am
islander19 wrote:I'm taking the GMAT in 11 days so getting down to the wire now!