Advise/Tips needed to optimize study strategy

This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
Hi guys,

I am studying for the gmat since 3.5 months now. I work full-time, hence my study time is quite limited. My test date is scheduled on May 21, so I still have two weeks to prepare.
I constantly review questions I got wrong and note in an error log why I got the question wrong and what would have been the correct approach. For some reason, there a few questions I get wrong over and over again even though I understand the concept, hence I feel I am not studying and using my error log efficiently (enough). I also make many careless mistakes but could not figure out yet how to reduce the number of such mistakes.
Would you recommend to review topics of questions directly after I got them wrong or rather to review each topic and try questions topic after topic?
Did you have similar problems and a suggestion how to improve or other study tips that could help me to improve?

Thank you very much in advance!!
Best,
Carolin

GMAT/MBA Expert

Elite Legendary Member
Followed by:511 members
GMAT Score:800

by [email protected] » Sun May 07, 2017 9:13 am
Hi Carolin,

Before I can offer you the specific advice that you're looking for, it would help if you could provide a bit more information on how you've been studying and your goals:

Studies:
1) What study materials have you used?
2) How have you scored on each of your CATs (including the Quant and Verbal Scaled Scores)?
3) Did you take the FULL CAT (with the Essay and IR sections) each time?

Goals:
4) What is your goal score?
5) When are you planning to apply to Business School?
6) What Schools are you planning to apply to?

GMAT assassins aren't born, they're made,
Rich
Contact Rich at [email protected]

by Carolin92 » Sun May 07, 2017 12:55 pm
Hi Rich,

thanks for your message!
Please see below a few more information to your points:

Studies: