Time for GMAT Round 2

This topic has expert replies
Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts

Time for GMAT Round 2

by eric777 » Fri Mar 31, 2017 10:55 am
Hello,

I studied for awhile last year, and looking back I realize I did not study well at all, and after a month break without really studying took the GMAT and scored an expected 570. 32Q/35V, a 3 or something on IR, and 6 on the essay.

I restarted my studies this January, and have been doing practice problem after practice problem from the OG, including going through the Manhattan GMAT foundations book once at the start of my studies, and once again two weeks ago. I took a practice test at the end of January (Magoosh practice which was not a great practice test) and they rated me a 580, though I believe I have improved since then.

I schedule my GMAT for the middle of May, and now I want to focus this last 6 weeks on really improving and I'm looking for some advice. I'm an engineer and work at a fortune 20 company in a technology research position, but I was always more of a C in calculus, while acing other random math courses kind of student. I know I have the aptitude, but my study skills aren't great.

Some background:

- military veteran -> only reason I'm mentioning it is that this hurt me as I never studied in high school, then 4 years without doing any math and then straight into engineering
- I didn't really start studying in college until my last two years, and then even though I was taking all engineering courses I was a mostly A student
- never took the ACT/SAT so I never properly developed study skills for tests like the GMAT