380 diagnostic score. 490 in 2.5 months?

This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

380 diagnostic score. 490 in 2.5 months?

by jthawkins86 » Mon Mar 13, 2017 11:34 am
Hey everyone,

I need some advice here. Yesterday I took the diagnostic test using the software made by GMAC that's supposed to give me an accurate score of where I stand at the moment. Well I scored a 380 and i'll be honest, I was shocked. I expected to be in the mid to high 400's AT LEAST. I am looking to enroll at a state college for Fall of this year who's deadline is July 1. I graduated undergrad in 2011 and with my undergrad GPA the minimal accepted score I have to make is a 490 to be accepted. Well in order to get my GMAT score to them in up to 20 days i'm looking to take the test on June 3rd - First thing in the morning while my mind is rested.

I keep going back and forth on whether I should go ahead and study for 2.5 months and hope to achieve a 490 or study longer, take the test around July and start in Fall 2018. Is 2.5 months enough time to jump 110 points? I'm using the GMAT OG '17 and some other videos i found online of some GMAT courses.

I just need some direction on my thinking here and what is/isn't possible to achieve.

Thanks.

GMAT/MBA Expert

Elite Legendary Member
Followed by:511 members
GMAT Score:800

by [email protected] » Mon Mar 13, 2017 2:53 pm
Hi jthawkins86,

Many Test Takers are unhappy with their initial practice scores, but you really shouldn't be. It's just a measure of your skills right now - and we needed to know your skills, strengths and weaknesses so that we can put together the proper study plan for you. Raising this score to a 490+ is absolutely doable in 2.5 months, but you're going to have to put in the necessary work and learn the necessary material/Tactics/patterns/etc.