need help

This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

need help

by javksy » Sun Feb 26, 2017 5:51 pm
Hello,

I have been studying for the GMAT RC for appx 2 months. I still cant seem to figure out the section on a whole. I read the passage (without making notes). I BELIEVE i understood everything I have read. However, after confidently answering the questions i find out that I got 80% wrong.

Will appreciate any help. Cant figure out what I am doing wrong.

Legendary Member
Followed by:128 members
GMAT Score:770

by DavidG@VeritasPrep » Sun Feb 26, 2017 6:39 pm
javksy wrote:Hello,

I have been studying for the GMAT RC for appx 2 months. I still cant seem to figure out the section on a whole. I read the passage (without making notes). I BELIEVE i understood everything I have read. However, after confidently answering the questions i find out that I got 80% wrong.

After you review the questions you've missed, do you understand why you've missed them? If you do, you should jot some notes to yourself about how to better approach such questions next time. If you don't understand why you're missing these questions, it might be helpful to get another perspective by posting questions here.

(And if your current approach isn't working, make some reasonable adjustments and see if the new strategies pay dividends. For example, you mentioned that you haven't been taking notes when you read. For the next passage you attempt, why not try creating a brief outline of the text and see if this helps?)
Veritas Prep | GMAT Instructor

Veritas Prep Reviews
Save $100 off any live Veritas Prep GMAT Course

by javksy » Sun Feb 26, 2017 7:46 pm
I tend to get lost when I start reading some new RC passage. I find that my notes were not helping me in any way before and that is why i stopped taking notes. I was rewriting the whole passage in just my words.