How to achieve 760 in a month from 720/30

This topic has expert replies
Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts
Followed by:1 members

How to achieve 760 in a month from 720/30

by hwang327 » Sat Jan 28, 2017 9:50 am
Hi,

I am planning to achieve a 760 in a month and I hope to share my story and formulate a strategy for how to approach my final push for next month.

I have been studying GMAT for exactly 6 months, though only more seriously for the past 3. Yesterday I took my first GMAT exam at a official testing center. I booked the exam 1 months ago knowing that I probably won't score that well but still wanted to do it as I wanted to acclimatize myself to a real testing environment.

Here is how it went... I woke up at 4:45am to do some math studying (read some target prep materials, did 1 chapter test and did 5 gmatclub questions), went to work at 6am and got off work early to arrive at the testing center around 3pm, feeling a quite nervous I proceeded cautiously. AWA and IR got me stomped from the get go as I felt my brain wasn't working at all. When Quant started I didn't have enough time to mark down timers and was off to a bad start, and then, got stomped on the very first question... Felt I performed horribly and I went on to verbal, did not do well and even skipped 1 RC passage completely. Prior to clicking to see the final score, I was expecting a high 600 ...

My final score was 720 (IR5; Q49; V38)

One week earlier at home I tested GMATPrep with 730 (IR 7, Q 50, V 39)

Love to get some tips on how to approach studying for the next 4/5 weeks to score a 760, I am also aiming for at least a 7 on IR.

So far, my strategy consists of 2 hour studying week day
1 hour Quant - read chapters from target prep, do some questions and consistently doing 5 gmat club quant qs everyday
1 hour verbal - do 5 CR qs from e-gmat and 5 SC qs from OG2017, then reviewing the notes