Help with Math?

This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Help with Math?

by nem86850 » Thu Aug 25, 2016 9:00 am
I just started studying for the GMAT and the Math part seems like I will have the most difficult with, is there a good book or something that will help me from like a 0 level on math to slowly start building up these skills?

GMAT/MBA Expert

Elite Legendary Member
Followed by:511 members
GMAT Score:800

by [email protected] » Thu Aug 25, 2016 9:36 am
Hi nem86850,

For free math practice and help, I recommend that you set up an account at Khan Academy (www.khanacademy.org). The site is completely free and makes the learning a bit more fun and 'game-like' (as opposed to the dry academic approach taken by most books). While the site is vast, you should limit your studies to basic Arithmetic, Algebra and Geometry. After spending some time re-building those skills, you can restart your GMAT studies.

GMAT assassins aren't born, they're made,
Rich
Contact Rich at [email protected]

GMAT/MBA Expert

GMAT Instructor
Followed by:1268 members
GMAT Score:770

by Brent@GMATPrepNow » Thu Aug 25, 2016 10:03 am
There are a lot of great websites out there to learn basic mathematical concepts (like Khan Academy), HOWEVER none of them address GMAT-specific concepts and strategies (data sufficiency strategies for one). Also, users are often exposed to concepts that are not tested on the GMAT. For example, if you look at the Basic Geometry module on Khan Academy, you'll find that many of the concepts covered are not tested on the GMAT. Finally, many of Khan's modules assume that you have a calculator available, but you don't get to use a calculator for the quant section of the GMAT.

If possible, I suggest that you stick with resources that were specifically created for the GMAT. Our free video course (https://www.gmatprepnow.com/) starts with the most basic concepts and works up to 800-level concepts. I'm sure there are other courses that do the same.