Suggestions needed to improve verbal score

This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Suggestions needed to improve verbal score

by Fl.New » Mon Sep 26, 2016 2:48 am
Hi,

I am quite new in this forum, though I have been reading many posts and threads.
I took the GMAT 3 years ago and scored 590 (Q:48, V: 23). I am not a native speaker, so the verbal section was more difficult than I thought.

I started studying again approximately 1.5-2 months ago, in order to improve my score and apply for a top-10 business school. I am planning to apply next September.

I am working in a full time job (Tax consultant at EY), so I am studying mostly at night and on the weekends.

The materials that I am currently using are:
- Magoosh (online videos and practice).
- Veritas prep's books (I am currently in the 8th book) + practice tests.

I am planning to take the GMAT on October 25th. My target score is 680-700.
I will also take 3 weeks vacation before the exam, to better prepare for the GMAT.

On my last 2 mock tests, I scored accordingly:
- 610 (Q:44, V:30)
- 620 (Q: 47, V:29)
On the quant section, I think I can improve my score to around 49-50. My difficulty is in the verbal section.
Please find attached the breakdown of my error in the Verbal section, from the last exam that I took.

As you can see, most of the errors were in the last questions, when I was under pressure for time.
I also decided to guess question number 37, to have more time for the last questions, and this question was apparently quite easy in comparison with the others.

I also felt during the test that I wasn't using all of the techniques and methods that I have studied in the past few weeks. Maybe it was due to the pressure or intimidation from the verbal section. In contrary, in the quant section, I am very confident and know exactly how to manage my time.

I need to improve the verbal score, in order to achieve my targeted score (36-37). I have less than a month to do so.