710. Now what? Apply in Round 1? Profile Evaluation.

Share tips as you apply, write essays, interview...
This topic has expert replies
Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts
So I just took the GMAT and scored a 710. I am reluctant to apply to schools in Round 1. I spent a majority of my time focusing on the GMAT instead worrying about essays. I am just curious if I should try and rush my essays and apply in Round 1 or spend a little more time and apply in Round 2.

A little background on me. I am a 25 year old white male. I went to a state school in California while on Active Duty. I graduated in 2 years with an Economics degree. My GPA was a 3.54. I am Marine Corps Officer, so all of my experience is military related. I have 7 years of leadership experience, to include training, leading, and mentoring NATO forces in Afghanistan.

I am curious as to what schools I would be competitive for? As with everyone on this forum I would love to attend a top-ten school. I am searching for more than GPAs and GMAT scores because I know there is so much more to application than just GMAT scores and GPAs.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Pardon for my forum etiquette, this is not my usual medium.

Legendary Member
Followed by:79 members
GMAT Score:640

by money9111 » Mon Aug 29, 2016 8:11 pm
Let's start with this... what is it that you'd want to do post-MBA? You are 100% correct that there is so much more to GMATs & GPA. Good thing for you is that your GMAT score won't hold you back form any schools. It's within range for sure...no matter what anyone else tells you...