GMAT Prep - Complete Beginner

This topic has expert replies
Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts

GMAT Prep - Complete Beginner

by mbsingh » Tue Aug 16, 2016 2:38 pm
Hi Everyone,

I am planning on taking GMAT end of this year mid to late December. It gives me roughly 3 months of prep time with one month of exclusive GMAT focus. If i feel like i am not prepared i'll postpone it to feb next year (most probably).

I have not taken any cat exam , i haven't done any study either. So how do i go around preparing for it. I ordered Official GMAT quant and verbal guides today. I don't even know the terminology that most people use here but i have been lurking around for a month and caught up on few things.

If someone can guide me that'll be helpful. Looking for self paced material and something affordable ( cant get second mortgage for prep material).

Thanks,
Manbir

GMAT/MBA Expert

GMAT Instructor
Followed by:1268 members
GMAT Score:770

by Brent@GMATPrepNow » Tue Aug 16, 2016 2:48 pm
mbsingh wrote: If someone can guide me that'll be helpful. Looking for self paced material and something affordable ( cant get second mortgage for prep material).
Thanks,
Manbir
Hi Manbir,

You might consider signing up for Beat The GMAT's free 60-Day Study Guide (https://www.beatthegmat.com/mba/gmat-guide). Each day, you'll receive an email with a series of learning activities that guide you, step-by-step, from Day 1 to test day. This will ensure that you will cover everything that the GMAT tests.

Here's an outline of all 60 emails: https://www.beatthegmat.com/mba/gmat-guide-outline

Cheers,
Brent
Brent Hanneson - Creator of GMATPrepNow.com

by mbsingh » Tue Aug 16, 2016 2:57 pm
Thanks Brent. I'll sign up right away.

Do i still need any books though or just read the material or study according to this 60 day curriculum ?

GMAT/MBA Expert

GMAT Instructor
Followed by:1268 members
GMAT Score:770

by Brent@GMATPrepNow » Tue Aug 16, 2016 3:04 pm
mbsingh wrote:Thanks Brent. I'll sign up right away.