Studied for a year and got 660. Want to raise to 700+

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
GMAT Score:660
I decided to take the GMAT last year. I prepared through only self-study, and took CATS while simulating official test conditions. I got the Kaplan Book, Manhattan GMAT Pack, and the 3 Official Guides.

I studied for the GMAT for over a year but it was regularly inconsistent. Work demands or other emergencies often required that to postpone practice for long periods -sometimes months.

Still, I went through the entire Kaplan GMAT book and all the Manhattan Guides but I didn't have enough time to go through most of the practice questions in the OGs before taking the test. In the end my GMAT score was lower than my last practice test.

Here are my scores below. As you will see, verbal was always a strong point, and my quant was weak
CAT 1 (Manhattan GMAT) - 620(V37, Q37 Date -Sep 27
CAT 2 (Manhattan GMAT) - 620 (V36 Q38) - Date -Oct 11
CAT 3 (Manhattan GMAT) - 710 (V45 Q41) - Jan 12
CAT 4 (Manhattan GMAT) -660 (V45 Q36) - April 23
CAT 5 (Manhattan GMAT)- 680 (V45 Q37) - June 18
CAT 6 (Manhattan GMAT)- 670 (V42 Q39) - June 25
CAT 7 (Official GMAT PACK 2) - 720 (V47 Q43) - Jul 16
CAT 8 (Official GMAT PACK 2) - 670 (V41 Q41) - Jul 16
Actual GMAT - 660((V41 Q39) IR 40% Jul 25

In the actual exam, I imagine that exam pressure and some disruptions at the test centre lowered my verbal score from V45-V47(99th percentile) in test exams to V41 (94thpercentile). All the same, what's clear to see is that my quant was always weak and would not have been persuasive for a top 5 MBA program. I think doing all the practice official guide questions is a good place to start with improving my quant but...