Post MBA - Tech or Consulting?

Launched September 22, 2008
This topic has expert replies
Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts

Post MBA - Tech or Consulting?

by mbatarget2016 » Sat Jul 02, 2016 4:05 am
So I started to work on my GMAT ( aiming 740+ ) , making decent progress and aiming to apply for a top 20 school in the US . I've got 10 years of experience behind me working for two major Fortune 500 and Fortune 50 companies in Canada , Africa and Middle-East , worked closely with Europe as well.
Functionally, I have touched sales , marketing , technology strategy deployment ( big data / analytics ) and recently service operations . Very diverse background .

Some other stats ; Male , 34 , Canadian/ of East Indian origion , graduated from a university in Canada with Electrical Engineering with a GPA of 2.2/4 ( Horrendous I know ) but I did well once I was in the work force.
Now , I am sure you guys are going to ask me - Why do I wanna do an MBA when I have worked for the last 10 years - One of the reasons is - I'd like a career change. , 2nd ) I'd like to work in the US and live there .

Now, I'm looking at two possible streams post MBA :

1 ) Technology Sector (My gig with Big data was fascinating ; I loved looking at trends and making use of all the information we receive from data points to make business decision. ) . I became really interested in all the latest and greatest going on in silicon valley , the technology space , unmanned cabs etc etc. What are the best US MBA programs to land jobs in the technology sector ?

2 ) Consulting : why consulting ? It sounds cool but I have no idea what it entails. What kinds of consulting do students end up getting into post MBA from a top 20 school? What kinds of different streams within consulting do we have? What do you actually do? What are the best US MBA programs to land jobs in consulting and are their different tiers? What's the remuneration like for some of these consulting firms?