670 GMAT - RETAKE??

This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

670 GMAT - RETAKE??

by rob10989 » Mon Jun 27, 2016 2:50 pm
Ok, so I just finished taking the GMAT for the second time and unfortunately didn't hit my target. The first time I took the test I got a 640, 5 AWA and 4 IR. This time I got a 670, Unknown AWA and 8 IR. Between the two tests I studied about 100 hours within a one month timeframe. I'm fairly burnt out and gave a lot to this test, but can't seem to get into the 700s. My practice tests were 680, 680, 690 and 710, all with 7s and 8s in IR.

I'm leaning towards not retaking the test right now, but I know I could do better. During my practice tests I hit 46/47 on math, but hit a 40 on test day (?!?!). Does anyone have some advice on whether or not to retake? I'm aiming for top 20 B-school, background in Private Equity but low college GPA. Any guidance would be much appreciated.

Legendary Member
Followed by:140 members
GMAT Score:800

by MartyMurray » Mon Jun 27, 2016 11:42 pm
Hi rob10989.

I think that you can break this down into two parts.

Do you need a higher score to get into the schools you want to get into?

How hard will scoring higher be?

While I am not really the guy to answer the first question, I can say that given your GPA and the Q40, that your current score will be sufficient to get you into the school of your choice is not 100% clear. It might be though.