Breaking through a Plateau

This forum is dedicated to our GMAT Avengers study group. Connect with fellow test takers and stay up-to-date with the latest Avengers' news. Experts are free to contribute in answering questions.
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
GMAT Score:740

Breaking through a Plateau

by RynLeigh » Wed Jul 06, 2016 8:16 am
Hi everyone,

I've been using the math-heavy 3-month study plan from Magoosh and am currently working through Week 5. I feel like I understand the math itself better but am still making silly mistakes in practice. My calculated Quant score through Magoosh hasn't really budged. I'm studying 2-3 hours a day (usually in the morning before work) and I think part of it is just rushing through to get everything done.

Has anyone else experienced something similar? How do you push through the plateau to make progress? How long did you have to study before you saw results?

I took the GMAT cold about 6 weeks ago and got a 650 - 42Q, 38V - but am aiming for a 720. Quant is where I need the help the most.

Thanks!
Ryn

GMAT/MBA Expert

Elite Legendary Member
Followed by:511 members
GMAT Score:800

by [email protected] » Wed Jul 06, 2016 8:27 am
Hi Ryn,

First off, a 650 is a strong score (it's right around the 80th percentile overall), so it could be enough to get you into your first-choice School. As such, a retest might not be necessary. That having been said, raising a Q42 shouldn't be too difficult - and you've already self-identified that you're making silly/little mistakes - so you have some areas that you can work on.

The Quant section of the GMAT is NOT a 'math test'; it's a critical thinking test that requires that you do lots of little math steps as you work through it. In that way, you likely need to focus more on Quant Tactics to raise your score than on just 'math skills.'

1) Since your Official GMAT was 6 weeks ago, have you taken any practice CATs since then? How did you score?