Masters of Accounting UNC or DePaul

Figure out where you wish to apply
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Masters of Accounting UNC or DePaul

by richarde19 » Fri Feb 03, 2012 10:36 am
Hello,

I am interested in going back to school to get a masters in accounting and eventually take the CPA exam. I presently do not have an accounting background and think the MSA is my best route. I was accepted into UNC's MAC program but it's really expensive for students out of state. I was also accepted into DePauls MSA program that would allow me to work full time as well as take classes. I was wondering if there was a distict advantage to going to UNC vs. DePaul or if I should just attend DePaul. Thanks!

by hectgarza » Mon Feb 06, 2012 7:36 pm
Congrats on getting into UNC! I am in the same boat as you. I graduated from The University of Texas at Austin and am interested in getting my MPA and becoming a CPA. I would like to go to UT as it's the #1 program in the nation but I don't think I can get in. Luckily, a great university is just an hour and a half away in Texas A&M. What were your GMAT scores? Were you thinking about any other schools? I haven't been able to find any research saying what are other good schools to apply.

by my700gmatjourney » Mon Jun 20, 2016 7:17 am
Hi,

I have attended both UIC and DePaul for my MSA. I started at UIC and after 1 semester RAN away and transferred to DePaul. Prior to my enrollment, I did my research, and read all that was available on all forums. I decided to go to UIC. This was the biggest mistake ever. UIC's entire graduate business program (MSA, MIS MBA, etc.) is a joke. I had 4 years of full time work experience in Finance before I decided to obtain my MSA. UIC makes it look like they have a competitive program, with great faculty, and "fabulous" employers coming to their career fairs. LIES LIES LIES !!! Below I will explain very "informally" my experience in UIC's MSA program in 2015.

1. Affordability: