which B-School?; Indian , Male, 43 yrs, 20 yrs military ex.

Figure out where you wish to apply
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
I am am Indian citizen and am presently serving in military in senior middle management role. I plan to change career after 20 years of service (compulsory under permanent commission) . I wish to do MBA from one of the worlds best schools but I am not sure which ones would like to consider my application favorably.

I graduated as engineer in electronics and communications engineering in year 1996 with 8.7 CPI (scale of 10). There after I joined Military.

In service during training I was in top 5% and received system of my choice to work on. Got engaged in maintenance management of fighter Aircraft. Graduated from O -Level (field level)to I-Level (in hangar detailed maintenance) maintaining an old fleet of ageing Aircraft. Worked against odds to keep them flying using best critical path and project management techniques to raise productivity of those under me (team of 250 technicians). My efforts were appreciated by Chief of Air Staff.

I also diversified my skills under military norms to manage Airfield Services (electronic equipment) as overall in-charge with a team of 50. I learned differences and soon build a robust infrastructure (within limited resources) to provide services all time and meet all users expectations from equipment.

Nine ears back I was chosen for a transformation project within organisation which is basically an MRO/EAM implementation to help better manage assets and their maintenance programs providing visibility and ensuring accountability. I worked from initial stage of generating interest among vendors, to RFP formulation, to technical evaluation , contract negotiation and now I am working on pilot implementation.

I have also done post graduation in engineering in year 2005-07 from one of India's best Indian Institute of Technology, where I was third in department with 9.34 CGPA.