My Exam Preparation Log (formerly Just Starting Out...)

This topic has expert replies
Master | Next Rank: 500 Posts
Followed by:4 members
GMAT Score:780
Hey all,

I'm just starting out on my GMAT preparation. Not even sure if I'm going to apply to business school. If I do, it won't be until Fall 2017 at the earliest. I figure it can't hurt to refresh on some of the mathematical concepts that I haven't used in 10+ years. So far, I've taken two full exams and the quant section of a third on Veritas Prep.

It was quite a challenge working through the quant sections - at least the first two. The third exam went much better, because I listened to a lecture on how to approach the data sufficiency questions. I was bombing them badly, when I went in cold.

Anyways, my scores on these diagnostic exams are as follows:

Exam 1 - Total Score: 650 (78th percentile); Quant 41 (54th percentile); Verbal 38 (84th percentile)
Exam 2 - Total Score: 650 (78th percentile); Quant 39 (48th percentile); Verbal 40 (90th percentile)*
Exam 3 - NOT COMPLETED YET; Quant 46 (71st percentile)

*I ran out of time on Quant in Exam 2 - missed the last 4 questions, or else my performance would have probably been more comparable to Exam 1.

**On Exam 3, you can see I did MUCH better on Quant than the first two attempts. Mostly because I actually had a basic understanding on how to approach Data Sufficiency problems. With that said, if I do comparable on Verbal to how I did in the first two diagnostic exams, I should have a composite score in the range of 690-710. I also focused more on time management for this exam.