620 (42-96%,32-26%) Help Improving Quant

This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

620 (42-96%,32-26%) Help Improving Quant

by RQGMAT » Wed May 25, 2016 3:33 pm
Hey everyone,

I just took the GMAT a couple weeks back, 620 (Q42-96%,V32-26%), and I'm struggling to come up with a plan of how to continue. My target score is a 700+ and I'd like to take the test in a month or so.

I studied for roughly two months in October/November (1-2 hrs/day), took a break until April (I was focusing on finishing the last semester of my undergrad) and then studied for about 3.5 weeks (3 hrs/day) using Magoosh's online resources. Here are the results of my practice exams:

10/24/16 MGMAT 1: 580 (Q39-43%, V31-61%)
11/04/16 MGMAT 2: 610 (Q44-58%, V31-61%)
4/13/16 GMATPrep 1: 630 (Q40-52%, V36-79%) I believe my verbal improved in large part due to regular analysis of WSJ articles in my econ capstone class. Reading really does work!
4/20/16 MGMAT 3: 620 (Q40-47%, V35-76%)
4/27/16 MGMAT 4: 620 (Q39-43%, V36-81%)
4/30/16 MGMAT 5: --- (Q41-49%,---) Only took quant in effort to work on timing
5/2/16 GMATPrep 2: --- (Q39-48%,---) Only took quant in effort to work on timing
5/4/16 GMAT: 620 (Q32-26%,V42-96%)

I'm not sure what happened on test day but I choked on the quant and crushed the verbal. I've been building myself a lot of pressure around schools I'd like to go to and I think that plays a role.

Apart from that, I had a sad realization when I went back and analyzed my quant scores that I haven't improved over the entire course of my study. I'm definitely doing something wrong!

My typical study session is about 50% videos reviewing the basics and then practice questions followed by reviewing those I missed. Since I've been studying for about three months with no real quant improvement, I figure I need to reach out for some study plan help. Thanks in advance for the recommendations!

RQGMAT
Last edited by RQGMAT on Thu May 26, 2016 8:26 am, edited 2 times in total.