Evaluation

Free advice from the world's top MBA consultants
This topic has expert replies
Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts

Evaluation

by nirupshetty » Wed Sep 10, 2008 6:44 pm
Please evaluate my profile:

Background:
I have done my bachelors in Electrical Engineering from a reputed government college in Bombay, India. My grades however were slightly below average. I completed my Masters in Electrical Engineering at University of Missouri-Rolla. I have a GPA of 4.0/4.0 for my Master’s study. I have been working for nearly four years with a large Design/Construction firm in the Energy field as an Electrical Engineer.

Aspirations:
Plan to do a part-time MBA degree at one of the top schools including Chicago GSB, Wharton, and Anderson. I wanted to stick to the Energy field after graduating and so was also considering programs like UT-Austin which lets one specialize in Energy Finance. As of now, I plan to work in the finance field.

Summary of Qualifications:

Bachelors: Bombay University, 2002 GPA: 3.0

Masters: University of Missouri Rolla, 2005 GPA: 4.0

GRE: 2250/2400 (Not valid anymore since I gave it back in 2001)

GMAT: 660 (83 percentile)
V: 38 (83 percentile), Q: 43 (69 percentile)
AWA score not yet received. Expect to get at least a 5.

Planning to give it again if need be since i just bombed the quant section for some reason.

MBA: Part-Time at one of the top schools.

Specialization: FINANCE

My concerns are:
1) What are my chances currently to get into a good part-time MBA program?
2) Do i need to take my GMAT again?
3) Any idea about the Energy Finance program at UT-Austin?
4) Do you think I should have 5 years of work ex before applying to any of these programs?
5) I had an 800/800 in Analytical and 780/800 in Math in my GRE. Is it even worthwhile to mention these in the application if it is expired as of now?

Thanks,
Nirup

MBA Admissions Consultant
Followed by:6 members

by Scottie@VeritasPrep » Thu Sep 11, 2008 6:43 am