Seeking some godly advice: I have performance anxiety issues

This forum is dedicated to our GMAT Avengers study group. Connect with fellow test takers and stay up-to-date with the latest Avengers' news. Experts are free to contribute in answering questions.
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
Summary: Thanks for listening guys. I just took my GMAT today the second time and scored 650 (Q47,V33) - disappointed and frustrated, I'm aiming for INSEAD.

------------------------------------------------------------

1) 2015-July Attempt: 680 (Q48,V35) - Prior to this exam I studied for about 1 month-ish, I cancelled the scores partly because I thought I could score higher.

Then I took a 7 month break from the GMAT.

2) 2016-March Attempt: 650 (Q47,V33) - Prior to this exam I studied for about 1.5 months, the three weekends prior to this exam attempt, I scored 700 (Q48,V38), 720 (Q49,V40), 760 (Q50,V42) on GMATPrep. So I thought I'd be alright..

3) 2016-May, I want to retake the GMAT in 5 weeks time.

------------------------------------------------------------

I believe I am capable of achieving a 700+ score, but for some reason it just didn't happen on exam day. Honestly, I'm baffled. All I want to do is apply to only one school: INSEAD. My professional work experience is in a Big4 accounting firm as an actuary in the consulting team. My undergraduate studies: Mathematics, Statistics & Actuarial Science. I'm a native English speaker (Chinese background).

Question) I believe I have the knowledge and understand the concept, but I failed to execute well on exam day. What do you recommend I do to help me score at my full potential on D-Day? Any advice is very much appreciated, THANK YOU.

Legendary Member
Followed by:140 members
GMAT Score:800

by MartyMurray » Fri Mar 25, 2016 5:04 am
Red Flag Number One: Use of the words "frustrated and disappointed"