A Brazilian Candidate’s Story-Accepted into 4 Top Schools

Share tips as you apply, write essays, interview...
This topic has expert replies
Master | Next Rank: 500 Posts
Followed by:10 members
Poonam, founder and president of myEssayReview, is now publishing interviews of her most successful students of Round 1 of 2015-16 application season. This is the first in the series.

Here is a chat with Eduardo Silva, who has been accepted into UCLA, Yale, and Kellogg with substantial scholarships (Kellogg-70K Donald Jacobs scholarship, - Yale SOM: 20k scholarship, UCLA Anderson: 70k scholarship). Eduardo is now heading to Kellogg to begin his MBA in Fall, 2016

Poonam: Can you tell us a little about yourself? Where are you from? Where and what did you study as an undergrad? What do you do now?

Eduardo: I´m a 28 year old male, born and raised in São Paulo (Brazil). I hold a Bachelor in Business Administration from the University of São Paulo (USP) - class of 2010. During my time at USP, I joined a NGO for the education low income students, for which I have been contributing in multiple ways for more than ten years. After undergrad, I joined DuPont (based in São Paulo), for which I have worked for almost six years. At DuPont, I worked in roles related to new product development, marketing and product line management. I´m currently the Latin America Product Leader for the Tyvek® business.

Poonam: When did you start thinking about MBA?

Eduardo: In 2010, during my first role at DuPont (as marketing analyst), I worked in projects with MBAs from Top business schools. Their skills and attitudes were a source of inspiration for me, which led me to consider attending business school. After attending a few admission events (2011-12), I was started by the schools and their accomplished and interesting alumni, so I finally decided that I´d apply to business school at some point later in my career.

Poonam: What are your career goals?