Timed or Untimed

This topic has expert replies
Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts

Timed or Untimed

by Azizakaria » Mon Feb 15, 2016 7:09 am
hello everyone, My test is in 2 months I studied all the concepts and solved a little of it, my last test was timed and I scored 400, today I'm thinking about taking an untimed MGMAT test as I think it will help me know my weakness points in content, so is that thinking is right ? should I take the tests time or untimed?

of course I know I will have to take timed tests as the official test will be timed, and I'll have to learn to solve the questions within the 2 mins. but at this stage of studying I'm focusing on master the contents & know my weakness points.

GMAT/MBA Expert

GMAT Instructor
Followed by:1268 members
GMAT Score:770

by Brent@GMATPrepNow » Mon Feb 15, 2016 10:48 am
Early on in your prep, there's a danger in focusing too much on your timing. In my view, this focus has the potential to actually hinder your preparation. I feel so strongly about the whole timing issue that I wrote two articles about it:
- Making Friends with Time on the GMAT - Part I (https://www.gmatprepnow.com/articles/mak ... %93-part-i)
- Making Friends with Time on the GMAT - Part II (https://www.gmatprepnow.com/articles/mak ... 93-part-ii)
Executive Summary: Use a timer, but only to get an idea of what 2 minutes feels like. Later on (once you've covered all of the content), you can start working on your speed.

Executive Summary of the Executive Summary: Content First - Speed Second

I hope that helps.

Cheers,
Brent
Brent Hanneson - Creator of GMATPrepNow.com

GMAT/MBA Expert

Elite Legendary Member
Followed by:511 members
GMAT Score:800

by [email protected] » Mon Feb 15, 2016 11:37 am
Hi Azizakaria,