Request for Profile Evaluation

Launched April 26, 2006
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Request for Profile Evaluation

by Alk89 » Fri Jan 29, 2016 7:37 am
Good morning everyone.

I'm a long-time reader, first time poster on these boards. I love the support of the Beat the GMAT Community as well as the Expert posters, which is why I wanted to ask for a profile evaluation myself. Having said that, I'll share my story with you guys (a rather long one!). I have to say I'm really insecure due to my low academic results.

To start off, let me say that I'm a 26 year old Peruvian Male. I wanted to apply during R1 this year, so as to start the MBA during fall 2017 (I'll be 28 by then).

My main concern is my UG GPA. I studied Business Administration & International Business at one of the top 5 schools in my country (5-year long program), but it is not a renowned school worldwide. I have a cumulative 3.4 GPA, but there's more to that. Due to immaturity and (badly) dealing with my father's decaying Health, I've failed 8 classes. Several of those classes are lower quant courses. My school allows re-taking the class, and in most cases the retake has wound up with an A, though in 2 cases a B. The F is not taken into consideration for the GPA calculation, the re-take grade is (but the F will be shown in the transcript). Most failed classes are during the same year, which was the toughest year for me. I understand it is not an excuse, seeing as how I didn't have to work to pay for my UG (family support), but that's what happened. I deeply regret my attitude and bad study habits developed from being academically successful at High School in spite of never really having put effort.

My GPA increased during the second half of my time in college. Failed 2 of the 8 classes during the beginning of the second half (re-takes were A's). I managed to be in the 80th percentile in spite of the failed classes during this second half.