Best use of 14 hours (over 2 days) to improve score?

This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
Hi,

I studied for about 50 hours (including 2 full practice tests) and got a 40 scaled score on the Quantitative section (I got 48V, so I'm luckily fine there). I am retaking the GMAT in a few days and have about 14 hours to allocate to further practice and prep, and 2 days over which to allocate that time.

What would be the best use of that time to boost my score as much as I can? Timing is my biggest issue (I reviewed GMATFree's review of all the basic mathematical knowledge in my first round of studying, and feel like I know that well. I also reviewed several topics in greater detail in the Manhattan Prep books, and learned basic strategies for DS, word problems, and backsolving, picking numbers from Manhattan and Kaplan. I am certainly weak on several subject areas when it comes to advanced knowledge and strategies, but I feel like I know 80% of the relevant concepts and just can't use my knowledge fast enough.)

I am planning to take 1 more practice test just to get back into the mode of taking the GMAT (my first take was a couple weeks ago). With my remaining time, I am deciding how to allocate my time between the following:
1 - Reviewing that practice test in detail
2 - Studying some topics in the Manhattan GMAT guides where I am particularly weak
3 - Doing associated problems at the end of the chapters I study (timed)
4 - Doing associated problems in the OG (timed)

My current plan is to review the practice test in detail, then do some mix of 2-4 with my remaining time.

Would I be better off, say, skipping 1 and 2 and just doing 3 and 4 to get faster? Should I focus my OG practice on the topics where I am stronger? Weaker? Random mix?

Would appreciate any suggestions you have - I know this is far from the optimal situation, but trying to boost my score as much as I can.

GMAT/MBA Expert

Elite Legendary Member
Followed by:511 members