Profile Evaluation

Launched April 26, 2006
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Profile Evaluation

by ecgrageda » Sun Oct 25, 2015 1:51 am
Dear Sirs/Madams,

I would deeply appreciate you taking your time in evaluating my profile. Thank you so much in advance!

1. Demographics: Filipino Male, Age 28
2. Education:
- GMAT 750 (Q49 V44)
- GPA 2.167 @ De La Salle University (top 3 "Ivy league" university in the Philippines) - Bachelor of Science in Applied Economics

I know my GPA is embarrassingly low. Was too lazy to study, family problems such as parents being sick (dad-kidney transplant; mom - lung cancer); thankfully still alive. Didn't see any point in studying so I just made sure that I graduated on time.

3. Work Experience:

- 2 years in Investment Banking - doing advisory; working with government (transaction advisory) on Public-Private Partnership Projects and Infrastructure Projects such as: Toll roads, Railways, etc.
- 3 years in UBS as an Equity Research Associate - transferred to UBS since I figured having a brand name like UBS would help me in my applications for business school

4. Extra Curriculars (Undergrad):
- Assistant Vice President: Economics Organization
- Officer for a University Political Party
- Volunteer for Gawad Kalinga Community Development Foundation, Inc. It's a Philippine-based movement that aims to end poverty for 5 million families, by first restoring the dignity of the poor.

5. Goals - To pursue an MBA and move into Private Equity, where hopefully one day I can setup my own Private Equity firm in the Philippines.

Dream Schools:

1. Wharton
2. Chicago Booth
3. Northwestern Kellogg
4. Yale
5. Columbia
6. Tuck
7. NYU
8. Cornell

Please let me know what your thoughts are! Thank you.

Regards,
A very Sad and Desperate Candidate (due to my very low GPA)

by ecgrageda » Mon Oct 26, 2015 5:34 am
Note that I got 4.0s in my Calculus classes since Math is really a strength of mine.