Applying to BS with a 690 Q49/V35 score

Share tips as you apply, write essays, interview...
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Applying to BS with a 690 Q49/V35 score

by BSMSUFL17 » Thu Sep 03, 2015 12:42 pm
I'm trying to figure out if I should apply to top business schools with a 690 (Q49/V35) score. I want to apply to Wharton, HBS, Stanford, MIT, NYU, and Darden. I have a degree in Mechanical Eng with and undergrad GPA of 3.50. I have 6 years of working experience.

What do you guys think?

Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts
Followed by:5 members

by Dozie@VeritasPrep » Fri Sep 04, 2015 9:02 am
It's going to be tough sledding with most of the programs as GMAT scores have soared in recent years and are consistently around 720 now. it may be worth a re-take if you are dead set on applying to all of these schools. Otherwise focus on Darden/NYU for you best chance amongst your crop of schools
Veritas Prep | Veritas Prep Admissions Consultant

Find the expert who's right for you. Meet our team!
Register for a free MBA Admissions Workshop!

Master | Next Rank: 500 Posts
Followed by:7 members

by Michael@VeritasPrep » Sat Sep 19, 2015 2:58 pm
Have to agree, definitely need to boost the GMAT. Are you scoring 690 without any instruction? If so, you could probably pick up 30 points by taking a class or getting a tutor. Not that I'm shilling for instructors, but the biggest thing I learned getting help were the tricks to solve problems more quickly. Imagine you could reduce the time to solve a problem from 120 to 90 seconds because of some shortcuts.

Master | Next Rank: 500 Posts
Followed by:7 members

by Michael@VeritasPrep » Sat Sep 19, 2015 2:58 pm