Profile Evaluation Request: Full-Time or Part-Time?

Free advice from the world's top MBA consultants
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
Hello,

I am looking for an assessment on my chances of being accepted into a top 25 full-time program.

Being admitted to a top 25 school is likely the only way I'd consider leaving my current role in IT Project Management at a Fortune 100 Health Insurer. Career trajectory at my current company leads to management. However, I have a desire to transition into consulting (ideally Big 4) and think a full-time MBA program would afford me the education and recruiting opportunities to do so. Otherwise, would a part-time or EMBA program while in my current role be a better fit?

GMAT:

It's a bit early in the process as I'm currently studying for the GMAT and looking to sit for the first time in July. Diagnostics suggest 670-700 is attainable. Hoping this would override my lack of quant background and average quant grades in undergrad (C+ in Calc)

Demographic:

Ethnicity: White

Background:

School: Big 10 State School
Education: BS Public Health
GPA: 3.4

Work Experience:

Company: Top 5 Public Health Insurer
Role:
- IT Business Consultant (2 years)
- IT Project Manager (1 year)

Extracurricular:

- Running (Marathon finisher)
- Non-leadership volunteer role at Children's Hospital
- Multiple leadership roles in undergrad

Target Schools:

- Kelley
- McDonough
- Owen

Reach:

- Ross
- Fuqua
- Kellogg

Master | Next Rank: 500 Posts
Followed by:5 members

by mcbMcK » Thu Jun 04, 2015 8:28 pm
Dear Mjwendt90,

Consider the following points: