Time to book GMAT exam appointment?

This topic has expert replies
Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts
GMAT Score:730

Time to book GMAT exam appointment?

by radbuz » Sun May 24, 2015 12:22 am
Hi,

I have been preparing seriously for the GMAT for the last 3 months (I study only on weekends). I gave my 1st GMAT prep test about one and a half months back. I scored 700 on this test (Q49,V36) . At that stage I was inefficient (sometimes lazy) on the quant section and was conceptually lacking in the verbal section , especially in CR and SC. I thank some of the coaches out here, who pointed me to the right resources , which helped me fine tune my exam strategy and bridge some of the conceptual gaps.

After 3 more weeks of intense prep, I decided to visit the nearest Princeton Review center and took a mock test in test like conditions. I scored 710 (Q51,V38) . I experienced utmost ease on the quant section, thanks to the timed practice sessions on the Veritas prep site. On the verbal front, I started feeling much more comfortable on the SC questions but still struggled on CR.Also, timing on the verbal section remained an issue.

I retook the GMATPrep exam today. I scored a 760 (Q50,V42) on it. Although, I'm extremely satisfied that my efforts over the past few months are starting to yield dividends, I'm not sure if I'm ready to take the GMAT in July this year.

I took today's test in nearly test center like conditions. However, I did find a few repeat questions (7-8) on both quant and verbal sections. The good thing from my perspective was that I hadn't reviewed my previous GMATPrep test. So, I was totally unaware of the correct answers and was forced to solve each problem. Based on the above background of my prep so far could someone help me with the answers to the following questions?

1. Am I ready to take the test in July? I'm aiming for a 740+ score
2. If I'm ready, what should I focus on in terms of prep over the next 1.5-2 months?

Thanks,
Nikhil

Legendary Member