Increased Responsibiltiy at work with no promotion

Launched April 26, 2006
This topic has expert replies
Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts
Hi,

I have a question concerning increased responsibility at work but no change in title.

I work for a small commercial real estate firm. I am a financial analyst focused on acquisitions and asset management of office buildings in two big metro areas. My old boss, who reported to one of the firm's partners left about 6 months ago. They have not replaced him, so I now report directly to the partner. There are no other analysts. I have seen a great increase in responsibility, but no title change. The company also did not offer raises this year either. I want to apply to b-school this fall and my plan is to get recommendations from my current boss to show my increased responsibility level. We have also had more business in the time since my boss left as a result of my direct work. If nothing changes, I may even take a job at a larger firm as a Senior Analyst or an Associate level position to show some progression once I get the recommendations out of the way.

Any advice you have on how this would impact my application or if I am doing this right this would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

GMAT/MBA Expert

Master | Next Rank: 500 Posts
Followed by:9 members

by MargaretStrother » Wed May 13, 2015 7:17 am
Hi jaw5XS
Great question! To fill in the blanks, I need to ask you a few more questions in return: first, who is below you in the food chain? How many employees are there? Do you supervise any of them, train them, or lead project-specific teams?