Profile Evaluation Request

Launched April 26, 2006
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Profile Evaluation Request

by LN1988 » Sat May 09, 2015 6:07 pm
Hi there,

I am a 27 year old Canadian female with 6 years of work experience. In the last 5 years I have worked at Canada's largest telco in a variety of roles including sales performance analysis, channel management and marketing. In my current role, which I have held for the last 2 years, I work in product marketing and lead project teams in building marketing strategies and campaigns for new product launches. I am pursuing an MBA with the goal of gaining formal education on the core business areas (finance, accounting, strategy + more) in order to develop a well-rounded knowledge base and skill-set for future opportunities. I will be applying for 2016 intake and looking for some feedback on my profile.

Education wise, I have a Bachelor of Arts in Communications from a good Canadian university - unfortunately my GPA is quite low - 2.8. No one to blame but myself, however I am hoping that I can offset this low GPA with the following:

- High GMAT score (targeting 700, currently scoring 680 on practice exams)
- Demonstration of more recent academic aptitude - completion of a project management course last summer at a top Canadian University, achieved a 95% grade.
- Obtained CAPM (Certified Associated in Project Management) designation early last year and currently in pursuit of my PMP (Project Management Professional) designation.
- Strong professional recommendations

Unfortunately I don't have much extra curriculars, at least nothing worth noting in my application. I am looking into volunteering opportunities right now but nothing to list currently. I have a variety of interests and hobbies - just not sure cooking classes and rec-level sports leagues are what the admissions offices are looking for :)