Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Princeton Review Practice Tests

by elizabethsmith909 » Fri Jun 20, 2008 12:28 pm
Does anyone know about how accurate PR practice test scores are. :?:

GMAT/MBA Expert

Site Admin
Followed by:994 members

by beatthegmat » Fri Jun 20, 2008 1:37 pm
They are a decent representation of the actual GMAT, and certainly worthwhile practice. The best, however, is GMATPrep.
Beat The GMAT | The MBA Social Network
Community Management Team

Research Top GMAT Prep Courses:
https://www.beatthegmat.com/gmat-prep-courses

Research The World's Top MBA Programs:
https://www.beatthegmat.com/mba/school

GMAT Instructor

by GMATDavid » Sun Aug 31, 2008 9:53 am
Hi,

I am a teacher and tutor with The Princeton Review. There have been a few questions and posts about TPR practice tests, so I thought I'd respond here to share my knowledge about them.

Our practice tests are based on extensive research into the test, including how the computer adaptive algorithm works. I took the GMAT recently and found that our tests are just a bit harder than the real thing, probably because we try to show a particularly broad variety of problem types.

Indeed, my scores reflect my impression. On TPR tests, my average verbal score is 41, my average math score is 45, and my avcerage composite score is 700. My real GMAT scores from April 2008 are 47V, 49M, 770. Granted I was more focused during the real thing, as opposed to taking the tests at home, but I do believe our tests are a bit harder but well within an acceptable range.

I have read that some say our tests are too easy or in some way not reflective. This is definitely not true. Quite the contrary: I have heard that some of the other test prep companies do not even have a computer adaptive algorithm, although I do not know for a fact.

Of course, I agree that any preparation must include the GMATPrep software as well.

Cheers,

David Stoll
The Princeton Revew
David Stoll
The Princeton Review

Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts