700 & 1 month till test?

This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

700 & 1 month till test?

by rwedmore09 » Sun Jan 11, 2015 6:03 pm
Hey guys,

First post here and was hoping for some study strategy. Even though I've been in the background wanted to say forums have been amazingly helpful!

I have one month until my test. I took a second practice test today and I was amazed by my results! I'm trying to figure out where to concentrate my efforts going forward. So far my practice tests (both GMAT prep) are :
Q:40 V:39 = 650 overall
Q:44 V:41 = 700 overall (today)

Some background: I started studying last January and due to some circumstances at work, I wasn't able to take the test at the end of May as I had planned. I put off studying, and I started up again in November. I took a practice test in October (650), and after seeing my first test score (and my low quant score), I have been studying ONLY quant for the past 2.5 months.

When I was studying in the spring, I went through all of the Veritas books and made study guides for each section. However, I didn't feel like I had a complete strategy with Veritas, so I switched to the Manhattan books in the fall. I thought I would need to go through all of the Manhattan quant and verbal books, but after seeing these two scores, I'm not sure I need to redo verbal.

Timing was definitely an issue in quant on my practice test today (basically had to guess on the last 10 questions because of lack of time). I still have the Veritas verbal strategy guides I wrote up, so I could go through those and my old books instead of going through all of the Manhattan material again. I haven't touched Integrated Reasoning or Reading Comprehension yet. I'm currently working 50-60 hours a week, so I only have about 20 hours to study.

What do you guys think I should do with the one month I have left?

GMAT/MBA Expert

Elite Legendary Member
Followed by:511 members
GMAT Score:800