MIT Sloan Interview Tips by Sloan Alumnus

Share tips as you apply, write essays, interview...
This topic has expert replies
Master | Next Rank: 500 Posts
Followed by:8 members
MIT Sloan Interview Tips by a recent alumnus

A bit of background about yourself.

I graduated from MIT Sloan in 2009. Prior to Sloan I had several experiences in network marketing. While there I focused on building up my marketing experience through labs and various consulting type experiences. I spent my summer internship at Samsung Headquarters in Korea, after Sloan I moved on to a rotational program with Hewlett- Packard.

How was your experience at MIT Sloan? Has MIT Sloan met all your career and personal aspirations? What did you like the most at MIT Sloan?

My experience at Sloan was beyond imagination! While any top MBA program will offer stellar classes and professors, MIT Sloan gives you a real opportunity to build hands on experience with top companies and non-profits allowing you to build contacts, a professional network, and an idea of what life is like in various industries/companies. While there I took the opportunity to participate in multiple labs, two to three month consulting projects organized through clubs or classes. These experiences truly shaped my MBA and prepared me to find a great post-MBA opportunity despite graduating in a tough economy. While at Sloan I was also able to participate in various global opportunities through both Sloan and MIT- wide organizations, I ended up doing consulting work in India, Malaysia, Korean and Italy and taking a spring break trips with to Thailand, South Korea and even North Korea!

What is the importance of interviews in the overall selection process at MIT? Is it a make or break after the interview? Or, does it form a parameter in the applicant's candidature?