Is a 680 gmat score enough?

Share tips as you apply, write essays, interview...
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Is a 680 gmat score enough?

by [email protected] » Thu Oct 16, 2014 10:04 am
Hey there,
This is Sagar here from India. I scored a 680 on my GMAT and i want to get into the Yale Silver Scholar program. My other choices are HBS 2+2, Stanford, Chocago Booth and IESE Spain. My academics are pretty strong and I fall in the top bracket of my college's grading system. As a part of extra-curricular activities, I've been a musician for 7 years and also have an album to my name. I have taken active part in my college cultural shows for 5 years now and have also headed one of the events in one year.
I have no formal work experience but I have worked as an artist manager for 6 months wherein I demonstrated managerial and entrepreneurial abilities and got to hone my strategic thinking skills.
I'd like to know what chance I stand at Yale and the other programs. If people could suggest other programs to me that too would be great :)

Thanks,
Sagar

Master | Next Rank: 500 Posts
Followed by:12 members
GMAT Score:770

by GeneralEducation » Fri Oct 17, 2014 6:01 am
Hi Sagar,

To make your profile more competitive as a Indian applicant retake GMAT and target score of 740+ to increase your chances. Your strong academics may also help you. Focus on applications along with your GMAT preparation so that you can dedicate more time for your applications.You can try Chances of B-School Tool to predict your chances for top B-schools by clicking here https://goo.gl/XV8WeG

Regards,
Manish
www.genedmba.com

MBA Admissions Consultant
Followed by:35 members

by MBAPrepAdvantage » Sat Oct 18, 2014 6:55 am
Echoing Manish, I feel a higher GMAT score would help your chances considerably.

The average GMAT score for Yale Silver Scholars was a 720 and HBS 2+2 was a 730. So, you figure the average Indian GMAT score will be even higher.

Good luck on your retake,