GMAT and Mental toughness

This topic has expert replies
Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts

GMAT and Mental toughness

by gmat_guy666 » Tue Oct 14, 2014 9:16 am
Hello All ,

I need some good advise from the experts here . I have been preparing for gmat for more than 6 months now and have gone through all the concepts pertaining to GMAT .

I took veritas mock today and scored 620 . ( Q43 V 31 ) . No doubt , I am disappointed with the performance . But , what I realized after reviewing the test is that the questions I got wrong were of easy to moderate levels . I also zoned out for ~15 to 20 minutes in verbal section . I could not focus on the RC ( passages ) or the CR questions during that miserable phase;but started to get my focus back when I was at question # 35-36 . I got the feeling that the exam is now finally going to end .

Here is the interesting part - after , taking 30 mins break I attempted all the questions ( timed) that I got wrong in the test and when reviewed the result , I got 9 out of 10 questions right in Quant and 8/13 questions in verbal . This clearly implies that I do not lack concept; It is my brain that doesn't perform optimally during the test .

How do I overcome the lack of focus while taking tests ? I have realized that it is not just practice that makes you perfect , there is something more needed .I am pretty sure a 720+ test taker never feels the way a mediocre test taker ( 500-650) does during the exam .

How do I optimize my brain function . Is there any smart drugs that you guys recommend to keep my focus for 4 -5 hours ?Any Brain supplements? unfortunately , Exercise and sleep are not enough . If I can teach my brain how to remain focused for 4 hours ; I am pretty confident of hitting the 680+ mark . So I need some really valuable suggestions from experts and smart test takers .....Please share .
Last edited by gmat_guy666 on Tue Oct 14, 2014 9:30 am, edited 1 time in total.

GMAT/MBA Expert

GMAT Instructor
Followed by:1268 members