Should I wait to take the GMAT

This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
GMAT Score:730

Should I wait to take the GMAT

by Mister_Fox » Thu Sep 18, 2014 7:22 pm
Hi All,

I have been working for 2 years (undergrad class of 2012) and am considering attending Business School in 2-3 years.

Should I take the GMAT now, or wait a year or two?

I obviously want to take it and get it out of the way, but I'm worried that there will be some significant changes to the test (like there were to the SATs around the time I took them) that may mean I need to retake it later.

Let me know your thoughts
Last edited by Mister_Fox on Mon May 25, 2015 7:13 am, edited 1 time in total.

GMAT/MBA Expert

Elite Legendary Member
Followed by:511 members
GMAT Score:800

by [email protected] » Thu Sep 18, 2014 10:36 pm
Hi Mister_Fox,

The fact that you're looking far enough ahead to know that you'll likely be applying to Business School in a couple of years is a good thing. It means that you can see the big picture and you won't necessarily run into a situation in which you're trying to do too much in too little time to make an application deadline.

The application process involves several "pieces", of which the GMAT is one (and in many cases, the most important). To help you set your own expectations, you should know that most Test Takers need 3 months (or more) of consistent study time to hit their goal scores. If you have the time to really nail the GMAT now, you should (since GMAT scores are good for 5 years).

Have you thought about the schools/programs that you might want to apply to?
Do you have an idea of your score goal?

GMAT assassins aren't born, they're made,
Rich
Contact Rich at [email protected]

GMAT Instructor
Followed by:512 members
GMAT Score:770

by David@VeritasPrep » Thu Sep 18, 2014 11:22 pm
You are in a great position!