Verbal is killing me! PLEASE HELP. Urgent!

This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Verbal is killing me! PLEASE HELP. Urgent!

by paramgupta » Tue Sep 16, 2014 10:53 am
Hello.

I have been preparing for GMAT for over 2 months now vigorously. My GMAT date is booked for 29th September 2014. I have covered most of the material (mentioned below) but I have a basic problem.

I have taken the Economist GMAT Tutor course. This is one good online course which really helped me overall. I have finished the course now and have started to give mocks.

My mock scores-

Sim1- 680 (Q49/V36)
Sim2- 690 (Q50/V36)
Sim3- 670 (Q48/V35)
Sim4- 690 (Q49/V37)

Veritas Prep Free Mock - 710 (Q50/V37)

GMATPrep Exam 2- 670 (Q48/V31)

You see what is happening there?? The VERBAL is stopping me from reaching 700 EVERYTIME! I don't know what to do. I have spent so much time on it. I have improved a lot from the start but its just not enough. I just can't cross 700 because of my verbal score. My target for the GMAT is 720! And I need 720.

The materials which I have done till now-

1. KAplan Premier 2014
2. Kaplan Test series (All 6 mocks- More than a month back)- Range 600-700
3. OG13 - The full book
4. OG Verbal Review
5. Manhattan Guides for SC, CR and RC.
6. Jamboree Online Test Series (Not adaptive)

And ofcourse the Economist GMAT Tutor.

As my GMAT date is approaching (13 days to go!!) I need some guidance with verbal. How do I crack it? Understand it better? My timing is good. I always manage to finish the paper and do not spend much time on one question. I maintain my average.

If any one of you can give me insights/suggest materials or good strategy. I am really in need. I am ready to do anything to ace the verbal section.

Also I plan to go for the Manhattan Mock series now. Should I? Is it worth it? I still have 2 Economist and one GMATPrep mock to go!

Thank you!

GMAT/MBA Expert

Elite Legendary Member
Followed by:511 members
GMAT Score:800