Can someone please rate my essay? It's my first try!

This topic has expert replies

Score

No votes
No votes
No votes
No votes
No votes
No votes

Total votes: 0

Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
Argument:

The following appeared as part of an annual report sent to stockholders by Olympic Foods, a processor of frozen foods:

"Over time, the costs of processing go down because as organizations learn how to do things better, they become more efficient. In color film processing, for example, the cost of a 3-by-5-inch print fell from 50 cents for five-day service in 1970 to 20 cents for one-day service in 1984. The same principle applies to the processing of food. And since Olympic Foods will soon celebrate its 25th birthday, we can expect that our long experience will enable us to minimize costs and thus maximize profits."

This is my essay:

This argument states that as the industry develops more efficient technology and methods, the cost of production would decrease and thus enable Olympic Foods generate more profits. However, this argument is flawed and depends on unproven assumptions. Thus, the argument is weak and unconvincing, unless the author can provide more foundation to the underlying assumptions.