Profile Evaluation Please, just over 2 years work exp

Launched September 22, 2008
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
Hi,

I graduated in Global Studies at UCSB with a 3.3
Have been working at tech startup for the last 2 years, first in administration, then in finance where I have been doing well
I would like to apply to bschool in fall of 2015 (3 years work exp by then)
I am just now starting to get involved with a local non profit whose cause I truly care about

I am mapping out my gmat study schedule and will most likely aim for march of next year.

Ideally I would like to be in the bay area for school (vibrant tech community) bc I want to stay in tech, My career goal is to become a c-level exec at small/med size company and scale it. I would also be open to checking out the east coast for 2 years while in school.

Any suggestions on what my chances are for top 20 schools? What should I aim for on my gmat?

Thanks so much!

GMAT/MBA Expert

MBA Admissions Consultant
Followed by:2 members

by Eliot » Tue Aug 19, 2014 11:18 am
Hello elishaks,

Thank you for your post!

As you may be aware, there are several elements of your candidacy that you'll need to consider for a successful MBA admissions process. Let's start with your academics. While a 3.3 is an acceptable GPA, it falls below the typical 3.5 average at top programs. Moreover, the fact that you attended a second tier university will put more weight on the GMAT. You will need to score a 700+ on the GMAT (with an 80%+ in each section) to strengthen your academic profile and assure the adcom that you could handle the rigorous quantitative coursework. It looks like Global Studies at UCSB did not involve much quantitative coursework, so you could even start trying to build an alternative transcript to showcase your abilities.