Choosing Recommenders

Share tips as you apply, write essays, interview...
This topic has expert replies
Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts

Choosing Recommenders

by nm1158 » Tue Jul 08, 2014 6:56 pm
Hi guys,

Wanted some advice on which recommenders to choose.
I've been working at my current firm for a year and a half but I don't think I can ask any of my managers to write my recommendation and I'd like to keep the application a secret at work, hence, I'm trying to get creative. Do you think the following people would be good recommenders?

1. Debate Coach
Last semester in college (2011), I joined the NYU debate team. The coach and I had a great relationship, he asked me to come back and coach the beginners after I graduated. Debate required a lot of travel so I couldn't do it for more than a semester, after which, he offered me the position of TA at NYU's debate class. I did start teaching with him (about 2 classes) when administration said I couldn't have two jobs on my current visa so I had to stop. Since then, I haven't been involved in debate, but he asks me to come judge tournaments once in a while. We still have a great relationship and he could write me a good recommendation but I'm concerned my direct involvement isn't recent enough. (?)

2. Client
He used to work at the company I am at right now but he moved over to the client side and I now work with him as a client. My only concern is would news somehow seep from him to my management who I am not imforming of my MBA plans

3. Co-worker
He worked in the same company as me at my previous job and my current job. It was due to his reference that I got my current job, but he left the company a few months in. My concerns are it's been about a year that we have not been working together and he was not working with me as a manager but as a co-worker.

4. Old Manager
I could reach out to two of my old managers - but it has been a year and a half since I left that company

Master | Next Rank: 500 Posts