What to do next? Two weeks from the test

This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

What to do next? Two weeks from the test

by brunoselva » Thu Jul 03, 2014 8:50 pm
Hi,

I am studying for 3 months and my target score is 700+. My first CAT was 580 and I have improved a lot since then on the Gmat Prep tests, but not on MGMAT CATs.

I have completed all the OG questions, retried all that I missed and finished all the Manhattan Verbal books. I also did 10 CATs (MGMAT range 580 - 630, others 650 - 700).

I always do the AWA section, I do the test without pausing and I respect the interval time.

My last Cat scores were:
Gmat Prep #1 (May 18th): 700 - Q47 V39 - 700 IR 6.5
MGMAT #4 (May 25th): 580 - Q38 V32 - 580 no IR
MGMAT #5 (June 21): 630 - Q42 V34 - no IR *extra 15 minutes
Gmat Prep #3 (June 29th): 700 - Q45 V40 - 700 IR 7

Since all my MGMAT Cat scores were way lower than the Gmat prep scores, I made an experiment, maybe a mistake, but I tried the MGMAT #5 with 15 extra minutes on each section. I thought that the questions were too hard and I could be having time issues, so I wondered if I could get any better with extra time. I learned that not and I won't do that again.

I tried to analise the results, but I can't explain why my grades are lower on the MGMAT. Also, I don't know why I got so many hard questions on the verbal section and a low score.

Verbal
I got 35 (24 correct) from the 41 questions with 700-800 difficulty and 6 (4 correct) with 600 - 700.
Wrong questions: 9 SC, 7 CR, 3 RC

SC is my weakness, I finish those kind of questions within 1:30 to 1:45 minutes no matter if I get it right or wrong. On RC questions I spend I little bit more time than the average, but mostly right.

From the time perspective, I learned that I must be aware of witch kind of questions I should guess, because extra time didn't get me a better score. Anyway, most of my mistakes, 11 from 19, were on questions answered within 1:20 to 2:00 minutes.

Quant