Serious timing issues

This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Serious timing issues

by Slewis2002 » Sun Jun 29, 2014 1:49 am
Hi all,

I have been studying for 4 months now and have less than a month until my exam (21 July). I spent the first 6 weeks understanding the GMAT and going through the Kaplan Premier book to cover all of the material. A month ago I signed up to the EMPOWERGMAT 2 month study plan which gave some much needed structure with my studying. My exam scores have steadily increased but are still quite erratic. My target score is 710 (targeting the top European Biz Schools) so I still have a lot of work to do in three weeks.

Practice tests:
01/03/2014 GMAT Prep 1 560 (Q40, V27)
28/03/2014 GMAT Prep 2 600 (Q39, V34)
13/04/2014 Kaplan CAT 1 640 (Q49, V39)
08/05/2014 Kaplan CAT 2 580 (Q44, V26)
10/05/2014 Kaplan CAT 3 640 (Q47, V34)
08/06/2014 MGMAT CAT 1 620 (Q43, V32)
14/06/2015 MGMAT CAT 2 600 (Q36, V35)
21/06/2014 MGMAT CAT 3 590 (Q38, V34)
29/06/2015 MGMAT CAT 4 660 (Q44, V36)

As you can see, my Verbal has improved. This is mainly through improvement in SC (I was terrible at the start but the Empower GMAT course has helped me smash this section - I know get ~90% of SC correct!) with the remainder of EGMAT course I am confident I can also improve targeted areas of RC and CR.

My main problem now is the quant. I majored in physics and I am quite confident with all of the quant concepts and usually answer 70-80% of questions during study time correctly. However, during the actual practice tests I buckle under pressure and my timing goes completely out of the window. I rarely answer any question under 2 minutes which means I end up guessing the last 6-8 questions. As as a "quant" person I think I struggle to apply the timing saving techniques (such as recognising shortcuts, "test it", and which questions should be triaged) and revert back to my detailed analytic nature, but this is killing my score!!