Veritas GMAT Practice Tests

This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Veritas GMAT Practice Tests

by alejandrosanroman » Mon Jun 09, 2014 10:21 am
Hello Everyone,

I'm giving the GMAT another shot. I studied for about 3 months last year and scored 510 (41Q and 20v. After taking the test, I changed jobs and stopped stuydying. At the time I was scoring in ranges from 590 to 640 on GMATPrep and Manhattan GMAT practice tests.

About a month ago, I decided to give the GMAT another shot with Veritas Prep On-Demand Course. I started in May and since then I have taken two Veritas Practice tests.
-May 10, 2014, 680 (47Q & 37V)
-June 7, 2014, 680 (47Q & 35V)

I'm a Mexican guy and I do not read as fast in English as in Spanish. My weakest spot on all the sections from the test is Reading Comprehension. I remember from the Actual Test and GMATPrep that the GMAT has usually 4 passages. On both of these Veritas Tests I only got 3 passages, is it normal to get only 3 passages on the actual test? How close are scores on Veritas Tests to the Actual GMAT?

I would appreciate if anyone has any comments on this.

Thanks,
Alejandro

GMAT Instructor
Followed by:512 members
GMAT Score:770

by David@VeritasPrep » Mon Jun 09, 2014 11:19 am
Alejandro -

It is now more common to get 4 passages on the actual exam. If you got 3 passages on the Veritas exam or on the GMATPrep or the actual GMAT they would be longer passages with more questions. This should not make a big difference even if English is not your first language.

Veritas practice test scores are based on millions of responses from test takers. This is how we know what difficulty level a certain question is. The scores are generally a good representation of what level you are at. Lots of research has gone into these exams.

The GMATPrep is still the most accurate since it uses officially retired questions. But the Veritas exams are very good.