Does medical residency count as work experience?

Share tips as you apply, write essays, interview...
This topic has expert replies
Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts
Hello folks,
I am a Psychiatry final year resident currently, and I am planning to take the GMAT next year and apply to 5-6 top b schools in America.
My question is very simple, does post graduation/residency in a specialty count as work experience? I'm already 27 years old mainly due to the long drawn course of medical education as a whole. Will it be too late to apply for an MBA at 28 years of age?

Also, are there any others on the forum who have completed an MBBS or an MD in any specialty and then applied to the top b schools? Does going to med school affect my chances of an mba at a top b school? I was a pretty average medical student, does that also affect my chances, even if I score a 720+ on the GMAT?

MBA Admissions Consultant
Followed by:266 members
GMAT Score:770

by Jim@StratusPrep » Thu Jun 05, 2014 6:46 am
In short, your medical experience can be a HUGE advantage in your application process. I would count the residency as experience, but you can also ask the admissions office directly how it should be considered. 28 is definitely not too old.

One angle that you can use in the application is that you want to work at a biotech startup.
GMAT Answers provides a world class adaptive learning platform.
-- Push button course navigation to simplify planning
-- Daily assignments to fit your exam timeline
-- Organized review that is tailored based on your abiility
-- 1,000s of unique GMAT questions
-- 100s of handwritten 'digital flip books' for OG questions
-- 100% Free Trial and less than $20 per month after.
-- Free GMAT Quantitative Review

by Ubiquitous » Thu Jun 05, 2014 6:50 am
I actually want to completely switch careers and get into Finance, since that is what I wanted to do when I was in high school...

MBA Admissions Consultant
Followed by:266 members
GMAT Score:770