2.GMAT in 5 days - conditional offer; skip AWA/IR? + Strat.

This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
Hi,

I have a conditional offer for the MSc Accounting and Finance at LSE. I need to score 650 until mid September.

I took the GMAT once and score a 610 (q47 v28) in March. My CATs were better (last three being 650,640,650). I messed up verbal since I didn't study it much (especially SC) and I had a "burn out" (did 5 tests in the week before the exam..)

I studied about 2 hours on 5 days a week for another 1.5 months now (with breaks due to applications for internships and the following interviews)

I now got a very good internship (4 weeks) at an Investment Bank which I couldn t refuse. It starts in 10 days and I will work 100 hours a week. There is definitely no time to study so I decided I will just spontaneously take a GMAT now (scheduled for wednesday next week; it was the last date applicable in Germany within the next 4 weeks! fate? )

My plan is to retake the GMAT a third time and get 730ish so that i can apply for a H/S/W MBA in about three years from now but I have to focus on sealing the deal for my Master. I just want to get that off the table since it means everything to me!

I took a CAT yesterday ( GMAT test package) and scored a 680 (my best CAT so far). Q went down! to 46 verbal up to 38. I did NOT take the AWA and IR this time.
I had 4 questions wrong in RC, 4 questions in SC and 0 questions on CR.

My first question now is can I skip AWA and IR in the GMAT on wednesday? No matter what score I get I will retake the test and the LSE made the condition of 650 (no requirements for AWA and IR). Especially in verbal I tend to get tired in the end so this might give me the edge?

I studied with:
- 10 MGMAT Strategy Guides
- MGMAT Advanced Quant guide (in the past weeks I only did this guide (100 of the 150 questions done so far); I think my quant went down because I didn't do any basics within the last 6 weeks; only hard questions)