Need advice on study strategy

This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Need advice on study strategy

by aditi.m89 » Thu Apr 24, 2014 8:50 am
Hello.

I am new to Beatthegmat. I took the GMAT in October 2013 and score 600 (42Q, 29V) which was a huge shock since I was scoring between 680-700 in the tests in the week before (tests included Manhattan GMAT and official GMAT prep). Then I didn't really study for the GMAT after that (change in plans and decided to apply for MA etc) Long story short, I am considering giving the GMAT again. Probably in August or so. I need advice on how I should go about studying it.

I have always been maths-phobic (for the want of a better term) and sufficiently good at verbal, which is why the final exam score really alarmed me.

These are the resources I have as of now.

Official guide 13
Manhattan guides (both quant and verbal)

I am using the free trial for the Economist GMAT tutor and I think it's good but I am still unsure if I should purchase the full version.

I would really appreciate any advice you may have regarding resources/study schedule etc.

Thank you so much!

Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts
Followed by:2 members
GMAT Score:750

by ThomasLHall » Thu Apr 24, 2014 9:29 am
It sounds like the last time you took the official test, you didn't perform up to your abilities. Perhaps nerves played a large role there? Had you taken quite a few CATs in the month before the test under test conditions? Its important to get yourself ready for the challenges of the official test that way.

And you say you are math-phobic, but on did far better on Quant last test than verbal. So, when you prep this time around, you want to be sure to build your skills on both sections effectively.