MBA student from very DIFFERENT background

Launched April 26, 2006
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

MBA student from very DIFFERENT background

by Peter284 » Sat Aug 23, 2008 11:13 am
The majority of MBA applicants seem to be in the IT, Banking, Finance, etc.., work field. I, on the other hand, come from a Industrial design background. I attended the top design school in NYC and graduated in 2006 with a 3.7 GPA and BFA degree in Industrial design. I am currently a designer for a luxury products company with 2.5 years experience there. After working in Product Development at a corporate company, I grew interest in the business side of the process, specifically, marketing. Since I am a designer in Product development, I am in constant communication with , marketing, sales, and vendors overseas. I then began to feel that Design and business share many similar qualities and processes. Every day I at work my job consists of problem solving through design. I believe that business/marketing faces problems all the time that need to be solved. Since marketing is the closest thing to design as far as creative vision is concerned, I want to bring in problem solving skills from design into the business side. I recently took the GMAT and scored a depressing 590. I do have the confidence however in raising that score another 100 points.

Do you think that with my different background and a 690-800 GMAT score, makes me a qualified competitor against all the IT, Finance, etc. applicants?

I currently live in the Northeast and REALLY want to go to Columbia or Kellogg. I am shooting for Fall '09 admission. If I took the GMAT once again by the end of this year, can I still make it in time for the later rounds of admission?

It's very rare to find anybody from my background with an MBA so any feedback/advice/suggestions would be GREATLY appreciated. THANK YOU SO MUCH.

GMAT/MBA Expert

MBA Admissions Consultant
Followed by:148 members